static profile fbml for all users, how ?

Feb 14, 2008 at 12:40 PM
Hi,
I am new to facebook, and to this toolkit, but this looks like the best solution for a NET (C#) developer like me.
I spent the last night, going over (houndreds) of examples, on how to work with facebook.
I worked with all the samples, and while I cannot get the FBML samples to work correctly (when redirected from facebook, it tells me there is an error), I did get (and understood) how IFrame sample works, and it looks like the way to go.
My scenerio is supposedly simple, but I cannot figure out what to do.
Actually all I want, is users that load my application, to see on their profile a line of text (just as I would do with setFBML...).
This line of text, is "static", and is not based on the user (globally the same for all users). This text, will change every 5 minutes or so, and I would like it to be updated on all users who have my application, without needing them to go to my application (canvas page)..I would like it to refresh on the users profile.. I found the new DATASTORE facebook is giving, and thought I can have an external program update my DATASTORAGE values every 5 minutes, and letting the users refresh from that... But I do not even know how to call my DATASTORAGE values...
I believe I do not even need a web page for this, can I not use the DEFAULTFBML in my application settings on facebook, to quary my DATASTORAGE values? Why does the SETFBML needs to be called from a web page at all?? I would like to keep my webserver untouched as there is nothing needed per request..
I read about the fb:ref , and handles, but all examples arein PHP ,and I am getting lost..
Anyways, I am confused, and while it looks I can make an application that browses the users friends and pictures, I cannot make something simple as update the user profile with simple static text...