Desktop Infinite Session Sample

Sep 4, 2009 at 5:12 PM

Hi,

The desktop sample provided requires the user to log in each time.  This is not good for a screen saver.

The ConnectToFacebook() Method always pops up a login screen.  Instead, you should be able to pass it the parameters that it is looking for in order to communicate with the facebook API service.  

This way, as a developer, I know which parameters it is looking for and I will save them for next time.  If the parameters are not provided, then have it pop up the login screen.

Once I get this working I will post the code that is necessary to achieve this.  But meanwhile, does anyone have any information regarding an Infinite Session for a desktop application?

Which parameters do I need to have in order to automatically log in, considering a user approved offline access to the application?

As an example, here is the code I am currently using for logging in and saving some data that is visible to me:

.ConnectToFacebook()
                '.ConnectToFacebook()
                My.Settings.SessionKey = FacebookService1.SessionKey
                My.Settings.UserID = FacebookService1.uid
                My.Settings.AuthToken = FacebookService1.API.AuthToken
                My.Settings.Save()

.ConnectToFacebook()

My.Settings.Save()

I tried using this data to access the API thereafter without invoking the ConnectToFacebook method with no success.

Thank You,

Leeor

Sep 4, 2009 at 6:08 PM

Ok, so now I've learned that the "Secret" code changes.  By the looks of it Facebook wanted me to provide an API AuthToken and a Secret code that IT provided.  Ofcourse, the API AuthToken stays the same, but now I see that the secret code changes.  So storing that info worked for me.  I will put together a better sample after I finish debugging it all.

If My.Settings.SessionKey <> String.Empty Then
                .SessionKey = My.Settings.SessionKey
                haveInfo += 1
            End If