Post-Authorize Callback URL example

Oct 15, 2009 at 2:39 AM

I am new to this and not sure the correct way to do something.  I am using the Facebook Developer's Toolkit v2.1.  Whenever a user add my application, i would like to add that user to my database.

1.  I have a SQL Server Database with a table called Users.  This table contains a varchar 50 field to store the FBUserID.

2.  I have my "Post Authorize Call URL" set to http://localhost:49619/<myappname>/Settings/AddApp.aspx

If i put a breakpoint within the Page_Load event of AddApp.aspx, it never breaks.  putting a breakpoint on my canvas page works great.  Is my url setup properly to debug locally?  Can you debug the Post-Authorize callback locally?

Finally, assuming i figure out how to debug it, how can i access the FB User ID?  Anyone willing to share their post authorize C# code?

I thank you in advance for any help!

Oct 15, 2009 at 7:46 AM

Hello Dan,

I suppose that you use iFrame app where it don't works. Look at the small text right to the text box in developer application :)

You can find user id with API.uid.  By the way, since you are beginner at this area I would like to offer you my scripts and

user control lib. You will spare lot of time. Just visit my site: Thanks !!

Oct 15, 2009 at 12:25 PM

To the right it says "Facebook pings this URL when a user removes your application.  Cannot be a Facebook-framed page."

My understanding is the specific page the authorize URL points to cannot be facebook frame.  Is this related to my canvas settings render method?

My current code for AddApp.aspx is:

<%@ Page Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/Site.master" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="AddApp.aspx.cs" Inherits="FacebookApp.Add" Title="Untitled Page" %>
<%@ MasterType VirtualPath="~/Site.Master" %>
<asp:Content ID="Content1" ContentPlaceHolderID="MainContentPlaceHolder" runat="Server">